When inviting a client to a shared project, the client needed to register and create his own teamgrid account. If I get it right, the client also gets emails that the plan should be upgraded etc.

I find this counter-intuitive. Our clients do not want to use teamgrid as their own software where they also manage their own projects. They want teamgrid to interact with us and have an overview what's going on.